Skip to main content
Menu Icon Menu Icon

InfoBytes Blog

Financial Services Law Insights and Observations

Agencies release 2019 list of distressed, underserved communities

Federal Issues OCC FDIC Federal Reserve CRA

Federal Issues

On June 17, the OCC, together with the Federal Reserve and the FDIC, released the 2019 list of distressed or underserved communities where revitalization or stabilization efforts by financial institutions are eligible for Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) consideration. According to the joint release from the agencies, the list of distressed nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies and underserved nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies are designated by the agencies pursuant to their CRA regulations and reflect local economic conditions, including changes in unemployment, poverty, and population. For any geographies that were designated by the agencies in 2018 but not in 2019, the agencies apply a one-year lag period, so such geographies remain eligible for CRA consideration for another 12 months.

Similar announcements from the Federal Reserve and the FDIC are available here and here.

Share page with AddThis