Skip to main content
Menu Icon Menu Icon
Close

InfoBytes Blog

Financial Services Law Insights and Observations

Oklahoma adjusts loan finance charge thresholds

State Issues State Legislation Oklahoma Consumer Lending Consumer Finance Finance Charge

State Issues

On May 4, the Oklahoma governor signed SB 1687, which adjusts the amounts a supervised lender may charge in lieu of a loan finance charge on loans carrying principals of $3,000 or less. Previously, the principal limit was $300. The amendments outline specific allowable loan charges based on principal amount that may be made on qualifying loans. Additionally, for loans greater than $1,620 but not more than $3,000, lenders are allowed an acquisition charge for making the loan that may not exceed one-tenth of the amount of the principal. The threshold rate changes are effective July 1.

Share page with AddThis