Skip to main content
Menu Icon Menu Icon

InfoBytes Blog

Financial Services Law Insights and Observations

Additional States Pass SAFE Act Legislation

State Issues

Recently, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oregon, and Rhode Island joined the list of states that have enacted legislation to effect the requirements of the federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008. Illinois HB 4011, Massachusetts SB 452, Michigan SB 462, New Hampshire HB 610, Ohio HB 1, Oregon HB 2189, and Rhode Island SB 461 all require mortgage loan originators to, among other things, register with the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS), complete pre-license testing and education, submit to fingerprinting for the purpose of a criminal history background check, and pass a qualified written exam developed by the NMLS. The Ohio, Oregon, and New Hampshire bills also amend certain statutory definitions and requirements applicable to mortgage lenders and mortgage brokers. Illinois HB 4011, Massachusetts SB 452 and Michigan SB 462 both became effective July 31, 2009, with the mortgage loan originator licensing provisions of each taking effect on July 31, 2010, or July 31, 2011, depending on certain factors. New Hampshire SB 610 and Oregon HB 2189, including the mortgage loan originator licensing provisions of each bill, became effective July 31, 2009. Rhode Island SB 461 became effective July 16, 2009, with the mortgage loan originator licensing provisions of the bill taking effect on July 31, 2009, or July 31, 2010, depending on whether the mortgage loan originator was actively licensed prior to the bill’s effective date. The relevant portion of Ohio HB 1 is effective January 1, 2010.

Share page with AddThis